Marvel and their “Average Joe”

Uncategorized

I saw a tweet and I read the thread, it was accompanied by a link about a Native American superhero, Red Wolf, that Marvel is showcasing. The editor of the new series stating that he would be more of an “Average Joe” which, what that implies is still confusing. They will also be diversifying the rest of their superheroes, Captain America will be black and Thor will grow tits.

Let’s start with, I am a huge comic book fan. Marvel, DC of course being my favorites, yet even the gritty basement comics grab my attention. Men and women saving lives and the super villains always getting in the way of progress…love it all. I guess suspending the disbelief that someone can be bit by a radioactive spider and start climbing walls is easier to understand than how Marvel thinks that giving Thor boobs is diversifying the series.

I am a writer. Marvel has staffs of people like myself that get paid to think of ideas…Hey yo think of new characters. Stop recycling. You have a slew of women characters that are amazing that don’t get their own real credit. Wonder Woman has been around since the forties and she is just getting her own movie in 2017 ( I know the TV show, but just chill). Starfire is the most amazing alien in my opinion, much more innocent and kind than that other alien we hear so much about (Superman) and she really only gets credit for following around Robin and having his baby. Which lets face it, is the best thing about Dick.

I digress, I could talk about the sexism, racism, classism and all the isms of the comic book world. There are plenty of independent publishers out there making incredible stories…I want to focus on the oddness of why Marvel one of the biggest comic book generators can’t just create new characters? Is it money? Marketing dollars shouldn’t be an issue. Is it just an easy way out? That is my concern. Red Wolf will be stripped of his tribal identity, he will be essentially an action star now. The ability to communicate with wolves might be squished as well, so they can create an “Average Joe”. Red Wolf is a member of the Squamish nation, which is so brilliant yet too politically incorrect to use? That is the only reason I read that they will keep him away from stating a tribe.  So that is where you draw your line…I guess.

Trying to create a cool diverse Native American superhero is GREAT, although you did that. Forge is spectacular, he’s an inventor, having the ability to create anything.  What a great role model, even working with Tony Stark’s team. You also have Mirage/ Dani/ Psyche who does it all, she is a cross over X-Men, S.h.i.e.l.d Agent even Hellions. Warpath is big time even being featured in an X-Men movie.

Point is, we can create new more modern characters. You don’t have to reuse, let Red Wolf stay in his alternate universe. Don’t put boobs on Thor, get Starfire involved, why make Captain America Black when you have the Falcon, just have to globalize them. Grant it, I know the diversification changes have been made. I just think speaking with prominent members of varies groups would bring lasting support to the characters. Who knows maybe they did and this is what the end result was. It just doesn’t seem that way.

Here is the article on mashable I saw that started my internal conversation. http://mashable.com/2015/09/08/marvel-comics-red-wolf-native-american-superhero/

I developed two male superheroes one is Native American and one is African American. I’m a white woman, it can be done Marvel. Imagination and the ability to think about how other humans live, let me do it. Like that one guy said “YOU HAVE THE POWER” oh wait, that was Mattel. How about advice from an elder….

“With great power comes great responsibility”

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment